[First Impressions] – Donten ni Warau – Episode 1

I still have no idea why this is shoujo. Apart from Kaji Yuji voicing Soramaru which makes me feel like I’m watching Ao Haru Ride all over again.

While I don’t normally prefer my anime in historical setting, I did really enjoy the first episode. The first episode did accomplish many things without feeling too rushed. A lot is done, and many darker events are properly foreshadowed.

Apart from doing a great job in establishing the premise, context and characters, Donten ni Warau throws in an extra sensitive insight into our character’s complexes. I find myself really excited to see how things play out. Not only in the plot aspect but more of how the characters change and develop in the future.

There are fights, and it does have Shounen vibes to it but Donten ni Warau is ultimately tagged Shoujo. I still find myself amused. Is it due to the sensitivity of this series or the handsome guys?

It is also rare that a premiere episode would do so much to establish the complexes of the MC. (I consider Soramaru to be more of the protagonist judging from the first episode). He is strong but is constantly undermined by his elder brother Ten who is basically OP at this point of time. It is terrible to the point that rumours are even going around that the two younger brothers are practically useless and Ten is just doing everything. This just aggravates the situation and causes Soramaru to want to prove himself to be worthy of his brother. The first episode did a really delicate job with this motif and struggle.

You can also tell Ten loves his younger brothers but he is also arrogant in the sense that he regards them as burdens that have to be protected. I guess being cocky is the right of the strong. But on the other hand he desires for his brothers to grow and become stronger. I guess it’s a fine delicate line between tough love or pampering them.

Donten ni Warau Episode 1 Review

I get him. He wants to keep his younger brothers safe and not put them in danger’s way. And he is powerful enough, so it is essentially illogical to let them join him and slow him down. But I guess he did not consider how Soramaru feels.

The whole episode is basically exploring the relationship between the two brothers Soramaru and Ten which I can say is a pretty good motif to start the show off. I can see how this will be expanded on and it does have a lot potential.

Donten ni Warau Episode 1 Review

We can see that Soramaru is pampered and sheltered by his older brother Ten. He has no combat experience apart from battling with Ten. From this we can actually see Ten as more of a parent figure that wouldn’t want to risk anything by putting his beloved brother in a real fight.

This is no problem because Ten can just carry all of them anyway. He portrayed is ridiculously powerful after all. But Soramaru starts to feel inferior, crave attention / acknowledgement.

Donten ni Warau Episode 1 Review

You see, this is why this series is kinda delicate and sensitive. Or is it because I’m already conditioned to think this way because I was told this is Shoujo.

The one thing I didn’t expect is for Soramaru to lose his one and only fight in this series and having to be protected by his brother. This just goes to show he has a long way to go. I was thinking if the first episode was the starting point for him to break free from the shadows of his elder brother. But he still cries like a bitch and have to be piggy bagged by Ten back home in the end. It is somewhat of a humiliating ending because I was rooting for Soramaru to win his fight.

Donten ni Warau Episode 1 Review

Being saved by the person you want to be acknowledged by. Pretty humiliating and sad for anyone with a basic sense of pride. It’s easy to empathise with this I guess.

As for the youngest in the trio, he appears to be a comedic figure as of now but I’m sure we will get more developments soon.

And I chuckled and the “bury it” joke. Was pretty lame but somehow worked. LOL. And apparently there’s a sky theme to this show. Soramaru and Ten, I see what you did there. After all Donten ni Warau means laughing under the clouds.

I would have to say this is a pretty well done first episode that makes me immediately want more. It is easy to watch, has good directing and good sensitivity that explores valid and powerful motifs. The art is decent, character designs fabulous (I’m loving that tinge of red on their hair!) Though it doesn’t strike me as an epic or “anime of the season” kind of good, it still deserves a good 8.6/10. It shows really immense potential and I’m really excited for what’s to come.

Oh, this series seems to have a pretty dark side to it. The prison implies torture (hopefully no butt sex! heh) and what the heck is the thing that prisoners are expected to bring in. Love episodes which leave me gasping and foaming in my seat as it ends.

And I’m still waiting for the dragon to appear. There’s a dragon somewhere right?

This entry was posted in Anime, Donten ni Warau, Fall 2014, First Impression, Shoujo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment