Winter 2015 Anime – First Impressions – Kantai Collection, Yuri Kuma Arashi

I’m chunking these 2 titles into one post because I don’t really have much to say about each of them individually. Some other titles may get an entire dedicated post. We’ll see.

So Winter season of anime started a few days ago. Checking out new anime is fun. So as usual, I make a point to watch the premiere episode of most ongoing anime.

1) Kantai Collection

Kantai Collection First Impression

This series felt very average and plain. Not sure if I really buy the whole idea of girls being ships and planes spawning out of nowhere from arrows. It’s honestly a “unique” concept that was borderline retarded. I get that silly premises and all are more acceptable as games and that is why video games should stay as video games (exceptions though). I can possibly imagine myself playing the game version of this. But anime? Nope. Just nope.

Throughout the episode I was trying very hard to stay awake. It was very hard. There was hardly any storyline. And as someone who never played this game before, I had a hard time keeping up with so many different girls (or ships) being introduced at once. The main fight in this episode was clumsy and I literally mockingly lol-ed when the random fighter jets that morphed from an arrow (??) came and saved the day. You got to be kidding me!

So are the girls really ships? Or are they girls wearing ship parts? When we see them dressed with ship parts and doing water skating is this supposed to be a “representation” of them being actual ships? Or are they really girls wearing skimpy ship parts as armour. I had a hard time struggling with this.

So far there isn’t really a point to watching this. Unless you’re a fan of the game. Otherwise, stay far far away! This isn’t worth anyone’s time. Like I said, I can imagine myself playing such a game. but to watch an anime like this, nah. Dropped.

Production value, animation and all were alright though.

Episode Rating – 5.1/10

2) Yuri Kuma Arashi – episode 1

Yuri Kuma Arashi First Impressions

The way this anime was presented felt like it was done by SHAFT. And it did have a very abstract feel to it, as though it was trying to send some hidden messages across. I don’t think I’m really “feeling” this anime properly as I felt nothing but boredom while watching this. There was just something that prevented me from feeling and drawing into this world. I can’t really say it’s because Yuri Kuma is bad. Perhaps it’s me. Idk.

Also, this has the potential to become really dark? I don’t know. because all I remembered was bear girls “licking flowers” of another girl and some random court scene appeared and people started to debate moral ethics and what not. The execution and flow of the premiere episode felt clumsy and slightly nauseating. I don’t know if it was the intended effect, but I certainly didn’t feel like I enjoyed myself very much. It was also hard to follow. Or maybe I wasn’t in the mood to pay much attention.

I’ve seen both very positive and negative reviews of this first episode. I think I belong to the latter. I don’t see much value in this series as of now but I’ll be sticking around to see if it gets any better.

Btw, whats the “invisible storm” and all about? And can someone tell me if i’m supposed to be turned on watching girls lick a flower growing out of another girl’s body?

Episode Rating – 5/10

(Yeah lower score doesn’t usually imply a drop. Yuri Kuma obviously seems to have a lot more potential than Kantai collection as of now IMO)


Unfortunately these were the first two series I tried this season. It’s surely off to a weird start. Yeah. So far, Winter 2015 feels awkward and weird. We’ll see. Hope it gets better.

This entry was posted in Anime, First Impression, Kantai Collection, Winter 2015, Yuri Kuma Arashi and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Winter 2015 Anime – First Impressions – Kantai Collection, Yuri Kuma Arashi

  1. miharusshi says:

    So are the girls really ships? Or are they girls wearing ship parts? When we see them dressed with ship parts and doing water skating is this supposed to be a “representation” of them being actual ships? Or are they really girls wearing skimpy ship parts as armour. I had a hard time struggling with this.

    And this is why I think that Ars Nova is better. Well, at least, the girls are fleets, but they have a anthropomorphic body, too, which was not a tad confusing in any way like Kancolle’s.

    Like

    • Princeytay says:

      I only watched one episode of Ars Nova and have a very vague impression of it. But I think I do recall how the ship/girl thing worked in that. (or at least I hope). That was better, I think. Though for some reason I didn’t feel compelled to watch more than the 1-2 episodes I tried.

      The funny thing in Kancolle is that I think they expect the audience to accept it as without questioning much, which is quite impossible because most people would be confused.

      Fixed your blockquotes too anw. 🙂

      Like

      • miharusshi says:

        Since anime is from Japan, where Kancolle is basically a thing, maybe producers didn’t consider the need to kinda explain some of the stuff that wouldn’t be understood by those who haven’t played the game.

        Ahaha, thanks for fixing my blockquotes! 😀

        Like

      • Princeytay says:

        Oh yeah I think target audiences would be fans of the original game so yeah. taking that into consideration I guess it makes sense.

        As for the non players I guess it doesn’t matter if the anime is good or not. the fact that the franchise has an anime now is going to draw attention to it no matter what. so i guess more people are going to know about the game.

        Like

      • miharusshi says:

        Yeah, that’s true. And I’m not a gamer, so the anime doesn’t really change anything for me.

        Like

  2. mochirochi says:

    And can someone tell me if i’m supposed to be turned on watching girls lick a flower growing out of another girl’s body?

    I haven’t watched the show, but from what I’ve gathered the flower is more symbolic of a certain part of the female body. So the girls are licking honey (?) off a flower, but you’re meant to imagine that they’re partaking in oral sex.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Winter 2015 Anime – First Impressions – Assassination Classroom, Saekano | Mega Prince Ytay!

Leave a Reply

