Depression x Depression – The ending of hunter x hunter

It’s finally time to say our goodbyes. Hunter x Hunter finally came to an end after 148 episodes. We’ve all seen it coming and they’ve announced it ages ago but why does it have to feel so depressing when the time finally comes? With the “ongoing” manga on hiatus (again!?), there is no guarantee if we’d ever get an anime ever again. Heck, we don’t even know whether the manga is ever going to continue. This post is not going to be a review so I’d figure that I’d treat HxH a little special here and I’d just talk about my feelings about this series and it’s ending, instead of systematically churning our just another review with an arbitary score/10 at the end.

Putting aside how depressed I am over this series ending, I have to give it up for Madhouse who did an awesome job in wrapping up the series. It’s one of the best non-rushed endings I’d seen in awhile that manages to give proper due respect to the series itself and it’s fans. (No one likes to be bitch slapped with a cliffhanger that might never resolve!). They took their time, they really did by almost dedicating 2 episodes worth of time for a proper closure. Speaking of proper closures they even gave us one final look at almost every single character at the end, which was really nice. Flashbacks, relevant ones, speaks magnitude of how much Gon and friends have progressed over the last 148 episodes and it definitely made audiences and fans go awwww. This episode almost brought tears to my eyes.

I’ll be missing HxH and it will stand tall and proud as one of the best animes I have ever watched (or even exist). It’s a series that puts many other long running series to shame (yes you Naruto, Bleach etc..) . It’s one of those series where you sit back and admire the writer’s genius. Wow, just what a wonderful journey it has been. Also shout out to madhouse for doing such a wonderful job (especially that amount of feels and the number of times I was left omgwtfbbq at my seat especially during the chimera ants arc!). It’s perfect example of how brilliant adaptation can take a series to another whole new level.

Like I said, this is not a review. this is just me paying my last respects to such an awesome series. But sadly, life is not fair. Have a genius aptitude for writing and publishing great content? Too bad you’ll get back pain so you can’t write anymore. Awww. But anyways I’m already thankful to Togashi for whatever he has given us (fans) somemore. It’s a pity, but we should already be grateful. Anyway to end off, HxH strikes again with it’s immense and rich philosophy of life quotes, sweetly and aptly putting the series to a close.

“You should enjoy the little detours to the fullest. Because that’s where you’ll find the things more important than what you want.” – Ging Freecss

Okay, I can’t put a score to this. Probably 11/10 if I had to.

This entry was posted in Anime, Hunter x Hunter, Long running series, Shounen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Depression x Depression – The ending of hunter x hunter

  1. Pingback: My Top 10 Anime of 2014! | Mega Prince Ytay!

Leave a Reply

